Monday, May 29, 2017

Book Review: The Lucky Few


I have to begin with a warning first if you decide to read The Lucky Few. You'll want to be sure to have a good solid couple days and a box of tissues as you read this book. If you have a heart for adoption or fostering, you'll definitely want to read Heather's story. I have to confess, I couldn't even get through the forward without getting teary! I loved seeing Heather's heart as she shares her story of becoming a mother. I want to share this book with all of my adopted friends, friend who've fostered or adopted. Be encouraged and share the joys and tears with this amazing family.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Book Review: All things Bright and Beautiful


All things Bright and Beautiful is an adorable board book with a handle. It's a very chunky board book with padded covers and a cute little red handle. The pages have adorable illustrations and are textured with glitter, bumps, etc. The bright colors and textures will keep your baby entertained at least for a few minutes. It's a quick read and your baby will love touching the pages. It's small and light. I would recommend this for babies and even toddlers. They'll love carrying this sweet little book around!

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Book Review: The Beginner's Bible Carry-Along Treasury


Take your original The Beginner's Bible, cut it by 1/3, add a magnetic flap and a handle. That's your  The Beginner's Bible Carry-Along Treasury. When I selected this book, I wasn't sure if it was going to be the complete Beginner's Bible or not. I wish it was, but I'll still settle for this one. This still has both old and new testament stories. The stories and illustrations are the same as those from the Beginner's Bible. If you already have one, you won't need this. However... this would be a great little first Bible for 2-3 year olds who like may want to take a Bible to church or carry it around the house. Some of the other reviews didn't know why the magnetic flap was necessary, but I like it. It's adorable and what 2 year old doesn't like magnets? Recommended for toddlers and preschoolers.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Book Review: The Beginner's Bible for Little Ones


If you haven't noticed a theme in my blog... I really really love The Beginner's Bible series. The Beginner's Bible for Little Ones is very similar to the Stories About Jesus version in design. This is a smaller sturdy board book. It has the classic Beginner's Bible illustrations (some very much the same). This board book version include both New and Old Testament stories, including the creation story, Noah, David and Goliath, Daniel and the Lion's Den, Jesus' Birth, Jesus Feeds Thousands, and the resurrection story. This is perfect for babies and young toddlers! Especially if they are anything like my little T-Rex! I highly recommend this!

Monday, May 1, 2017

Book Review: The Berenstain Bears Friendship Blessings Collection


The Berenstain Bears Friendship Blessings Collection is a collection of 5 books bound beautifully in hard cover. As always, the Berenstain books have the classic illustrations and a great moral to their stories. This is a great book for preschoolers. Be warned though... your little one may want to read all the stories before bed so make sure you have enough time for all 5 stories! This is a great gift for those preschoolers graduating this spring.

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Book Review: The Berenstain Bears Bless Our Pets


Ther Berenstain Bears Bless Our Pets by Mike Berenstain is a fun short story about what happens when you get everyone and their pets to church for a blessing. This was a short paperback book with the classic Berenstain Bears illustrations. We love hearing about all the different types of pets people have. We also loved the idea of blessing the pets as well as our families. This is great for any preschoolers with pets!

Monday, March 27, 2017

Book Review: Thank You, God for Grandpa


Our kids love their Grandpa and Poppy. Thank You, God for Grandpa by Amy Parker perfectly reflects all the fun reasons why we love them. Like all of Amy Parker's other books, this is a good quality board book, quick bedtime story, and wonderful illustrations. Great for beginning readers and tired moms and dads. :)

My personal favorite part of the book... referring to Grandpa...

"The widest man I know -
Just ask him- he'll agree!
He knows how to do everything,
And now he teaches me."

I'm pretty sure both would agree. Great Amy Parker book to add to your collection. :)


Thursday, March 2, 2017

Book Review: God Bless Our Baby


God Bless Our Baby is such a sweet little board book! It has wonderful illustrations of baby animals and the story is an easy read for little ones to understand. This would be a great baby shower or new baby gift for siblings. It's a quick read for toddlers who like lots of books before bedtime! This book is also a good quality board book. I didn't realize it was sitting in the box outside in a thunderstorm and when I opened the soaking wet box, the book wasn't damaged or anything. If you baby likes to chew on books, this will be a safe book!

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Book Review: Really Woolly Easter Blessings


The Really Woolly Easter Blessings by Bonnie Rickner Jensen is a very sturdy board book. Each "blessing" has a Bible verse, a poem and a little prayer. The illustrations are adorable throughout the book. If I had the discipline, this would be a sweet devotional to do each night before bed with your little one leading up to Easter. The poems are super short and the Bible verse and prayer is written in a way that very little ones will be able to understand. The true Easter theme is throughout the whole book. From God being our Savior, Jesus Lives, all the wonders of Spring are reflected in the book. I would recommend this book to parents looking for Easter/Spring themed short devotionals.

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Book Reivew: Same Kind of Different As Me For Kids



Same Kind of Different As Me For Kids by Ron Hall and Denver Moore is about a black man who grew up working hard on a plantation and then goes to the city. He lives for many years in the streets, homeless, hungry, and learns the love of Jesus through a volunteer at a homeless shelter. I love the theme in the book that "Nobody can help everybody but everybody can help somebody". 

I think Denver Moore's story is an amazing story. However, I think this book is really better for elementary school age kids. Preschoolers are still a little bit young to understand all the things happening in the story. However, having said that, I will still read it to my preschooler. 

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Book Review: Baa! Oink! Moo! God Made the Animals


Baa! Oink! Moo! God Made the Animals is a very sweet board book. It goes through the various animals found on a farm and the sounds they make. This is a great book for little ones to not only learn to recognize the animal, the sounds they make, and how God made each of them. My preschooler loved the book. The board book is good quality and will be good for little hands. I recommend this for all little ones.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Book Review: God Made You Nose to Toes



 God Made You Nose to Toes by Leslie Parrott is an adorable board book! It goes over the various parts of the body and why God made those. 

"God gave old Toucan a fairly big nose. 
But your little nose can small all that grows."

We love the illustrations of all the animals: toucans, monkeys, giraffes, and more! This is a great book to get your little ones to learn their body parts and their uses, but also about how God made them so special. I would recommend this book for babies up to beginning readers. It's great quality and will withstand a teething baby!