Sunday, November 4, 2012

Book Review: Share the Bounty

I received the book Share the Bounty by Benita Long for review from Thomas Nelson Publishing. This is one of the most beautifully put together cook books I have ever seen. This is a fairly large book and would be great on the coffee table book. This would be a great gift for a hospitable woman who shares her home and meals with those around her.

This book includes 5 categories of recipes: luncheons, festive occasions, convivial dinners, for the very young, and international. Each recipe includes a picture, an easy to read recipe, and inspirational quotes/scripture. I love pictures in my cook books, and I just love how this book incorporates not just meal ideas, but also home decor ideas as well. I would recommend this as a host gift.

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Book Reivew: The Southern Foodie

I received the book The Southern Foodie by Chris Chamberlain for review from I am a self proclaimed foodie and thought this was a great road map for a food tour from Virginia to Texas! I wish I had this handbook of the best places to eat through out the south during the past few years during long road trips back and forth throughout the south! Each southern state has 6-10 featured restaurants. Each restaurant features includes their famous recipes. I like how the author writes about what makes the restaurants special and makes you want to visit, not only because of the food, but because of its uniqueness.

The recipes are for fairly easy to follow, but this would not recommend anyone trying to lose weight or have high blood pressure, or high cholesterol. The recipes are very heavy. Even so, this is a very fun book to look through with lots of pictures of the recipes to make. I definitely will be checking out the restaurants listed in the book when I am in the neighborhoods!

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Book Review: Perfect Lies

I received Perfect Lies by Jennifer Crow from Tyndale Publishing for review. Jennifer Crow talks about 9 commonly believed lies that we believe which can cause us to suffer spiritually, emotionally, and even physically. The first part of the book covers Jennifer's own story. She is very candid about her own breakdown, physically and mentally, and the steps she took to come out of that state. She uses scripture to back up her beliefs.

In the second part of the book, each chapter covers a lie. She includes ways we can detect the lies, the antidote to the lies, her picture prayer experience, an exercise for the reader in picture praying, statements for the reader to ponder, and scriptures for the reader to ponder.

The 9 Lies covered:
1. I am Unloveable
2. I am Worthless
3. I am Unacceptable
4. I am Unable
5. I am a Target
6. I am not Angry
7. I am Bad
8. I am in Danger
9. I am Deprived

If you can relate to the statements above, then I would recommend this book, or if you are feeling depressed, completely hopeless, or suffering from low self-esteem. I could not relate to the lies, and had a difficulty keeping my interest.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Book Review: Running for My Life

I receive the book Running For My Life by Lopez Lomong with Mark Tabb for review from Thomas Nelson Publishing. This is the incredible story of U.S. Olympic runner Lopez Lomong's escape from the Sudanese Civil War to live the "American Dream"! You will be captivated from the very first page of this book! The story being with his kidnapping at age six from his home church and being taken to the rebel camps. He accounts his memories of being in the camps, the escape, the refugee camps he lived in, the faith  that carried him through to the United States. His life story is amazing, and his faith even better. This book will definitely makes you appreciate the life we live in the United States. I would highly recommend this book to everyone! It will give you a reality check of our world, the hope we have in God, and the inspiration to go and achieve your dreams as well.

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Book Review: Inescapable

I received Inescapable by Nancy Mehl for review from Bethany House Publishing. I was immediately drawn to the book since it was set in a Mennonite community! This is the first book of a series called Road to Kingdom. Lizzie ran away from her Mennonite hometown, Kingdom, 5 years earlier when she gave birth to a baby girl out of wedlock and feeling rejected by not only the community, but mainly by her parents. When she receives threatening notes and a mysterious man keeps following her, she runs back to the last place she felt the stalker would find her, Kingdom. Back in her hometown, she must face old relationships with friends, members of the church, the mother that never stood up for her, and her angry father.

There were so many aspects of the book I loved, but mostly the dealing with difficult relationships.  She has to heal from what she perceived as rejection from her father, figure out her feelings for her childhood friend Noah, as well as learning to trust in God again. I also loved Lizzie's relationship with her daughter. I would highly recommend this book!

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Book Review: The Widow of Saunders Creek

I received The Window of Saunders Creek by Tracey Bateman for review from Blogging for Books for review. After losing her husband to the war in Iraq, Corrie moves to her husband's home town and grandmother's home in hopes to connect with her deceased husband. Her home is being haunted by who she believes to be her husband. While in Saunders Creek, she get's to know her husband's cousin and extended family and is forced to address many new feelings as well as coping with her past.

I absolutely loved this book! The characters were well developed and very lovable. The issues Corrie deals with are real and relatable to many military families/widows, as well as anyone who just enjoys a great love story. This book does cover topics of witchcraft and spirits/demons, but has Jesus as the focus of how to address those issues. I would highly recommend this book for all Christians! I loved it! I honestly could not put the book down!!!

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Book Review: Moon Blood

I received the book Moonblood by Anne Elisabeth Stengl from Bethany House Publishing for review. I was a bit disappointed by the book. I didn't realize this was the 3rd book in the Goldstone Woods series, so the lack of character development was very difficult for me to follow the book. I would highly recommend readers to read the first two books before reading this one for sure! I usually love fantasy themed books, but I didn't find this book captivating (then again, it probably had a lot to do with the fact that I didn't read the first two books).

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Book Review: Sixty Acres and a Bride

I received Sixty Acres and a Bride by Regina Jennings for review from Bethany House Publishing. This book takes place in Texas in the late 1870s. A young Mexican widow, Rosa, moves to Texas with her mother-in-law, who was also widowed. They find out that the renters of the property abandoned their ranch and the taxes hadn't been paid for a few years. The women must find a way to pay off the debt in only 3 months! 

This book was a bit difficult to get into, but once the characters were developed, I absolutely loved it and couldn't put it down! Rosa and her mother-in-law's story follow the same storyline of Ruth and Naomi from the Bible. They even have their own Boaz - Weston, a nephew of Rosa's mother-in-law. Weston, a tough cowboy,  takes on the role of protecting his family, including Rosa. Rosa and Weston's story of their relationship is beautiful. 

I would recommend this book to woman! It's a great love story! You won't be able to put it down once you start!!! 

Monday, April 23, 2012

Book Review: Blind Hope

I received Blind Hope by Kim Meeder and Laurie Sacher for review from Blogging for Books. This book is the true story of Laurie's experience of adopting an unwanted, stinky, ugly dog. The bond, love, and healing she experiences through the relationship with this dog is very much like the experience we have with God.

I wasn't that big of a fan of the writing style, but the concepts of the book great! The experiences Laurie had definitely do a great job illustrating how our heavenly father feels for us! I would recommend this book to any Christian who is struggling with their walk with God. I'm not a big animal person, but this book makes me want to adopt a dog so that I may experience the beautiful relationship portrayed in the book! :)

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Book Review: Simply Grilling

I received Simply Grilling by Jennifer Chandler for review from I live in Hawaii, so having a cookbook that I can use ALL year round is fantastic!

There are 3 things I like best about the book:

1.) It's hard cover! Classy looking cookbook. Great gift idea.
2.) The pictures of all the dishes make the meals look so appetizing! I like to see what my food is supposed to look like when it's done.
3.) SUPER EASY and DELICIOUS recipes! Most of the recipes use ingredients most of us have in our kitchens. It's amazing what desserts (my favorite part of meal) can be made using the grill!

This is a great gift for the grillers out there! Enjoy and happy eating! You'll like the book, but you'll love the food even better! :)

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Book Review: The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

I received the book The Scent of Cherry Blossoms by Cindy Woodsmall from Water Brook Publishing for review. Cindy Woodsmall does it again! Another fantastic, charming, and heart warming book! This book actually follows The Christmas Singing. I didn't realize it until a few chapters into the book. Annie, an Old Order Mennonite, visits Apple Ridge to stay with her grandfather after her mother kicks her out of the house. Annie falls in love with Aden, the son of the owner of Zook's Diner. This book goes into the background story about the Zooks family. Roman, Aden's crippled brother, also overcomes self-doubt and frustration with God's will for him.

I just love all the characters in the book! The forbidden love between the Annie the Mennonite and Aden the Amish is so romantic! I love it! This is such a cute book! I recommend this book to all hopeless romantics out there! Enjoy - but definitely recommend reading The Christmas Singing first if you haven't already!!!!

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Book Review: A Sound Among the Trees

I received A Sound Among the Trees by Susan Meissner for review from Blogging For Books (Water Brook Publishing). Marielle, a woman from the desserts of Phoenix, marries a man from Fredericksburg, VA. She moves into his previous wife's family's house, a mansion from the Civil War era, with his 2 kids and his former wife's grandmother.

The book is broken down into multiple sections, each being a part of the house. The events all occur in that portion of the house. The book is not a Christian novel but I still enjoyed it. I especially enjoyed the interesting family dynamic. I think many blended families, especially the mom figures can appreciate this book. It's an easy read. This book definitely makes me want to brush up on my history of the Civil War!!

Saturday, March 3, 2012

Book Review: Moments of Truth

I received the year long devotional book Moments of Truth by John MacArthur for review from This book is broken down by month, covering various topics that many Christians struggle with day-to-day. From love to marriage, parenting to work, and many other very important topics. This is a daily devotional, broken down by day, even includes February 29th! Each day has a verse, a message from the author and a question to think about. One thing I really like about the message is the fact that MacArthur includes many scriptural references. He doesn't want you to just take his word, but be able to see where the information he is sharing is coming from. Some people may struggle with the first week of devotionals. MacArthur defines what "truth" is. I think this is a good devotional for all Christians to read through. It will help you ask yourself, what do I truly believe? A question we should all ask ourselves!

Friday, March 2, 2012

Book Review: Life Promises for Couples

I received the book Life Promises for couples: God's Promises for you and your spouse by Gary Chapman for review from Tyndale Publishing. This is absolutely the cuttest little devotional book! It has lots of purple to appeal to all the ladies! Each devotional has a list of "Life Promises", three scriptural references, and a message from the author. Gary Chapman is the author of The Five Love Languages. He uses many of the concepts of the 5 love languages in the messages in this book. He points how we can better love our spouses by showing us scripture that teaches us HOW to love. I love this little devotional because he shares real life examples! Everyone will be able to relate to the scenarios Gary discusses. The best part is, he gives honest, helpful, doable tips in learning to love and communicate better with our spouses! I highly recommend this book for ALL married couples (along with his other book The Five Love Languages).

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Book Review: When the Soul Mends

I received the book When the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall for review from Water Brook Publishing. This is actually the third book in the Sisters of the Quilt series. I really wish I had read the first two books prior to reading this. Even though it back tracks enough to know what is going on in the book, I think I would have enjoyed the book more having had the character development in the first two books! So much happened in the first two books that I felt I missed out by not having read them first. I love Hannah's character - her compassion and love for her sister. Even though Hannah is former Old Order Amish, her tragic rape and the healing that has to occur is something that any woman who has been violated in that way will be able to relate to. She deals with so many real life issues throughout the book that so many women in our society are having to face daily, including trying to help her mentally unstable sister, dealing with her own hurtful past, tension with her father, and mending relationships with old loves. I would recommend that readers start with book one! :) As always, Cindy Woodsmall does a great job sharing the live style of the Amish. I would rate this book a 3/5 stars.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Book Review: Princess Stories

I received the book Princess Stories by Carolyn Larsen for review from Tyndale Publishing. This is no ordinary fairy tail. This is devotional style story book of many of the important female characters from the Bible. Each story (devotional) lists the character name, the Biblical references, a very cute poem mimicking the mirror mirror on the wall poem, an explanation of the princesses' lives and their role in the Bible, as well as a Bible verse that reflects the theme of their lives. Each devotion also includes a "Princess Ponderings" which includes questions to discuss with your little ones.

Over all, this is a very cute book. The only thing I think some people may have issues with is the illustrations. All of the princesses look like Barbies with different hair. I don't have an issue with the Barbie look-a-likes and would recommend this book for all the little princesses.